Each Spring, the Credit Union awards David P. Smay scholarships in the amount of $1,000 to each winning application.

Congratulations 2019 Scholarship Winners


2019 David P. Smay Scholarship Winners 


Hannah Burk
West Linn, OR
United States Military Academy at West Point

Ashley Clarke
Bellaire, TX
The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania

Chima K Ezeh
Pleasanton, CA
Duke University

Shomik Ghose
Bellaire, TX
Columbia University

Anna Hermoso
Mays Landing, NJ
Case Western Reserve University

Kyle Pittman
Sugar Land, TX
Texas A&M University

Kayla Reynolds
Fairfield, CA
University of California, Davis

Justin Rusit
Suisun City, CA
University of California, Davis

Wheaton, IL
Clemson University

Sara Smith
San Rafael, CA
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Cameron Uy
Concord, CA

Larry Zheng
Pleasanton, CA
Duke University


Check back next March for 2020 scholarship information.



To apply, you must be:

  • A Credit Union member with all accounts in good standing.
  • A graduating high school senior, 19 years of age or younger.


  • A thoughtful essay with a title (double-spaced, two pages maximum, eleven point font minimum) on a topic to be announced in March.
  • Your transcript(s) reflecting all four years of high school, including any Honors or AP courses, as well as your cumulative, un-weighted GPA on a 4.0 scale.
  • A list of your extracurricular and community activities and work history.


The submission deadline is usually May 1, with winners announced no later than May 31.

If you have any questions, please give us a call at 510-251-6000 or 800-782-8782 or send an email to [email protected].

Facing Financial Hardships? We Can Help.

Read More